So I'm thinking of building a new tower

TeAhnPrime

Yea, so this is what im thinking of doing. I'll have a monitor/keyboard/speakers so here's the lowdown.

I'll have a budget of somewhere between 700-1000 bucks. I know several people who can build them, and i have basic knowledge of how to piece them together, but never have done it. Anything you guys would consider a must have? I'm looking for a 256 vid card, but im not so sure where to go processor wise. Intel has been my baby forever, but im open to new things. Ok, ending this, any thoughts/comments about what/where to buy would be appreciated.

http://www.newegg.com/

Pretty much everyone I know is running an Athlon 64 processor on a DFI motherboard. Don't know the particulars because I'm too broke to buy them for myself right now :-\

I am not entirely sure on these things but I did build mine when I got it. I have an intel processor because they are top notch for multi tasking. AMD is better for gaming if thats all you plan to do on the machine. Celeron (sp) I believe is more of a word processing processor. They can be used for gaming but there are better. As far as vid cards go though I'm not sure if your going to be able to find a 256 card for less than 450. That said I am from Canada so that is a canadian price.

Other than that its like lego. You can only put a piece in one place.

I'd go for the AMD 64bit CPU's. Thats going to be the future of computing, better to get in now then buy something thats already phazing out.

Heres why a 64bit coputer is vastly superior to the 32bit one that you are running: