Dez's quasi-yearly update on life

Valdez

So, I got bored the other day and started browsing the forums, thinking back to the good ol' days when we'd sit in MC and wipe on trash. I figured that I should pop on here and give those who care an update on the current status of TehDez.

I'm now a Senior at Michigan State University, still studying Criminal Justice with a specialization in Security Management. I'll be graduating in May, at which time I will begin the frantic search for a job (should be fun in Michigan). I've got 18 credits right now (10 credit internship, 8 credits from actual classes) so I'm a bit busy, it's easy to say I'm looking forward to graduation.

To tie in with the degree and specialization, I'm now an intern! I'm working 30 hours a week at Emergent BioSolutions. They're currently the only company that has a contract with the US Government to manufacture the Anthrax Vaccine. They do a bunch of other crazy biomedical stuff that I don't quite understand, but it's a pretty cool place. I'm an intern in the Protective Services division, so I hang out with the security officers (Not like rent-a-cop stuff, like officers who carry glocks and AR-15's and walk around) when they patrol the campus, monitor the security console/cameras, work with the bomb-sniffing dogs at the gate to campus, stuff like that. I'm getting some great experience there and will definitely be looking towards putting in an application when the internship is finished in December.

I'm also still working as a Parking Enforcement Supervisor at Michigan State, I get joy from ruining other people's days. My hobbies at that job include towing vehicles that are habitual (6 or more unpaid citations) or nailing the bastards that illegally use Handicap Placards (it's so much fun). Since I'm employed by the police department on campus I'll have some awesome references and it should also look quite good on the resume.